Buffalo Sabres Coverage | LetsGoSabres.com
+ LGS Press Box Charlotte Web Design by Promerix
Full Story Latest Headlines
Bookmark and Share Subscribe Print Story
Oh Captain, My Captain
Rivet gets the nod as Sabres newest captain

Rivet will become the 23rd player in franchise history to wear the captain's "C" for the Sabres.

BUFFALO (LGS) — The Buffalo Sabres lacked leadership last season and that was one reason they dealt for veteran defenseman Craig Rivet. Now the newest Sabre will take on an even larger leadership role.

Head coach Lindy Ruff announced today that Rivet has been named the franchise's newest captain. The decision was approved by the coaching staff after the players voted on the issue.

"We felt this group was old enough and mature enough to have one captain to represent this team," said Ruff. "Part of the process was allowing the players a say in who that captain should be."

The 34-year-old will become the 23rd captain in Sabres history. Unlike last season, Rivet will remain the team’s permanent captain as the Sabres will no longer rotate the captaincy on a monthly basis.

"Obviously I'm a little bit surprised," said Rivet. "There's a number of guys that could be wearing this 'C' today and I'm fortunate enough to be the guy to wear it this year."

The Sabres will rotate the alternate captains on a home and away basis. Jochen Hecht, Teppo Numminen, Jason Pominville and Jaroslav Spacek will wear the alternate's "A" this season.

Rivet was acquired by the Sabres on July 4th from the San Jose Sharks. He is signed through the 2010-11 season and is scheduled to make $3.5 million per season. He was drafted in the 3rd round (68th overall) by Montreal in the 1992 NHL Entry Draft.

This is the first time in his NHL career that Rivet has been named captain. He was an alternate captain on both the Montreal Canadiens and San Jose Sharks.

Sabres All-Time Captains:

  1. Floyd Smith (1970-71)
  2. Gerry Meehan (1971-74)
  3. Jim Schoenfeld (1974-77)
  4. Danny Gare (1977-82)
  5. Gilbert Perreault (1982-87)
  6. Lindy Ruff (1987-89)
  7. Mike Foligno (1989-91)
  8. Mike Ramsey (1991-92)
  9. Pat Lafontaine (1992-97)
  10. Alexander Mogilny* (11/93-4/29/94)
  11. Michael Peca (1997-2000)
  12. Stu Barnes (2001-03)
  13. Miroslav Satan (October 2003)
  14. Chris Drury (November 2003)
  15. James Patrick (December 2003)
  16. J.P. Dumont (January 2004)
  17. Daniel Briere (February 2004; 2005-2007)
  18. Chris Drury (March 2004; 2005-2007)
  19. Jochen Hecht (Oct. 2007; Jan. 2008)
  20. Toni Lydman (November 2007)
  21. Jaroslav Spacek (December 2007)
  22. Jason Pominville (March/April 2008)
  23. Craig Rivet (Present)

* - Due to injury to LaFontaine.

blog comments powered by Disqus
By Paul Szeglowski, LGS Site Manager
Bookmark and Share Subscribe Print Story
Sell NHL Tickets - StubHub.com!